Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science
» Structure and Dynamics: Spectroscopy and Scattering (SDSS - 2023) » Hybrid Halide Perovskites 2023 » Notice No. 3.032/1032 dated 29.08.2023 on re-constitution of the Management Committee of IACS » Special Campaign 3.0 mandated by DST » DST Notification » Quantum Sensing & Quantum Metrology » A Conference on "Recent Trends In Condensed Matter Physics Related To Quantum Materials" » IACS Colloquium from the School of Physical Sciences by Prof. Anindya Das, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore on 23rd February 2024 (Friday) » International Conference on Catalysis (IC²-2024) » 75th Republic Day Celebration at IACS Premises on 26.01.2024 » National Science Day celebration at IACS on 28th February, 2024 » IACS Colloquium from School of Physical Sciences by Prof. Diptiman Sen, IISc Bangalore » SAIS Symposium 2024 on 1st & 2nd March 2024 » Admission to Integrated Bachelor's-Master's Program in Science and Master's/Integrated Master's-Ph.D. Program in Science - 2024 » Appointment of one Sports Officer on purely temporary and contractual basis (in Consultancy mode) initially for a period of two (2) years. » Last date of Applications/Nominations for appointment of Director has been extended up-to 30th April, 2024 » Admission to the joint M.Sc.-Ph.D. Program in “Chemical and Molecular Biology” for the academic year 2024-25 (IACS and IIT-KGP) » Observance of Swachhata Pakhwada-2024 at IACS from May 01,2024 to May 15,2024. » Schedule of Interview for PhD Admission (Autumn Semester 2024) for School of Applied and Interdisciplinary Sciences(SAIS) » Notice for in-operative PAN » Schedule of Interview for PhD Admission (Autumn Semester 2024)for School of Biological Sciences(SBS) » Schedule of Interview for PhD Admission (Autumn Semester 2024)for School of Chemical Sciences(SCS) » Schedule of Interview for PhD Admission (Autumn Semester 2024)for School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences (SMCS) » Schedule of Interview for PhD Admission (Autumn Semester 2024)for School of Physical Sciences (SPS)

Name : Subrata Ghosh

Department : School of Chemical Sciences
Designation : INSA Senior Scientist
Contact : +91 33 2473 4971 (Ext:1402)
Email :


Research activity in our group is focussed on total synthesis of bioactive natural products, development of methodologies for synthesis of architecturally complex molecular structures using cycloaddition and olefin metathesis and Chiron approach for synthesis of enantio-pure molecules.

Academic Profile

Academic Profile

Brief CV

Professor Ghosh obtained Ph. D. in 1978 under the supervision of Late Professor U. R. Ghatak at Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS), Calcutta. During his Ph. D. he joined the Department of organic Chemistry, IACS as Research Assistant in 1977. He worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Case Western Reserve University with Professor R. G. Salomon as the mentor during 1979-1981 and 1984-1986 on study leave from IACS. He joined the Department of Organic Chemistry at IACS as Lecturer in1982 and began his independent research career. Subsequently he was promoted to Reader in 1987, Professor in 1994 and Senior Professor in 2005. . He also served IACS as Dean during 2009-2012. He was a visiting scientist at Liecester University for the period October-December, 1997 under INSA-Royal Society Exchange Program. He served as an Editorial Board Member in Journal of Chemical Sciences. He was a member in DST Management Advisory Committee for young Scientists, DST Program Advisory Committee (Organic Chemistry) and in Sectional Committee (Chemical Sciences) of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore. He retired from service in April, 2014. Since then he is continuing his research as a J. C. Bose National Fellow. Research interest includes total synthesis of natural products, development of new synthetic methodologies, cycloaddition reactions, olefin metathesis, Chiron approach to asymmetric synthesis etc.


Will be available soon.



Will be available soon.



  • Fellow of The Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore.
  • Fellow of Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi
  • Fellow of West Bengal Academy of Sciences and Technologies.
  • Recipient of DST Ramanna Fellowship
  • Recipient of DST J. C. Bose National Fellowship
  • Recipient of Professor A. S. R. Anjanulu 60th Birthday Commemoration
  • Award (Silver Medal) of Indian Chemical Society
  • Recipient of Bronze Medal of Chemical Research Society of India
  • Recipient of M. K. Rout Memorial lecture of Orissa Chemical Society